• 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
For those who have chosen Python as their primary..
Part 1

I am not a professional programmer, but I love doing it. I started programming when I was 11 in machine language, moved up to several flavors of BASIC, and assembly language for the 6502. Learned some Java, C++, and VB where I got my degree in computer science. The college actually paid me to tutor VB. I have played around with PHP, WXEuphoria, action script and I am now heavy into Python and C.

I enjoy coding in VB but it is not what I would consider all purpose. I have been on a search for a 'universal' language for some time now, that is NOT c++.

When I was in college, Java seemed like a candidate because it will run on anything with a VM installed. The trans-humanists, like Eliezer Yudkowsky, that are working on bringing about the singularity say Java is one of the best languages because of its portability. Plus it's free. BUT it seemed to have a c++ feel to it. The Python book I am reading now has a quote that undermines my faith in Java by saying, "Java is. in many ways c++--" Michael Feldman

I don't like c++. I have a legal copy of it and I am sure I will use it for cpu intensive parts when I need it, but mostly not on purpose. It's not that c++ is hard, I don't care about that- it is that it takes too long to learn that classes and libraries- THEN you have to learn them for other systems too. Code samples I have seen have a million lines to draw a square. I don't have time for all that- I am all about efficiency and my time is precious to me.

I have read a lot of things saying Python is used in this and that and by this company and that and the whining about the white space, but in the end I have chosen Python because it runs on the 3 major platforms(even default installed on some flavors of linux AND Mac) and you can do web scripting, console apps, gui apps, graphics scripting, all the way up to pwning your network!