Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5


Removing and Re-adding a BES account on a BlackBerry
05-06-2012, 04:42 PM
Post: #1
Removing and Re-adding a BES account on a BlackBerry

Removing and Re-adding a BES account on a BlackBerry

If you want to remove and then re-add / reactivate a BES user on a BlackBerry then this is the roundabout way it has to be done.

1) First things first, do a FULL backup of the device.
Make sure that the Blackberry Desktop Software is installed on their PC, plug the phone in, wait for it to connect then choose Device > Backup
Go to C:\Documents\BlackBerry\Backup and make sure that the backup is in there.
If you don't have the Desktop Software Installed download it from the BlackBerry website, ver7 can be downloaded here but there will most likely be a newer verison.

2) Now in Desktop Software go to Device > Delete Data.. All Data then click Delete - It may take 5 minutes or so, this does NOT delete data off the memory card only the Internal phone storage. (You can also do a remote wipe from the BES server)

3) Disable / Delete the user account from the BlackBerry Enterprise Server
1. Log in to webconsole
2. Go to Manage users and click the user that you want to Delete.
3. Scroll to the bottom and click
A: To retain the BlackBerry Enterprise Server information in the user’s mailbox, click Yes - Disable as BlackBerry user.
B: To delete the BlackBerry Enterprise Server information from the user’s mailbox, click Yes - Disable as BlackBerry user and remove information from the user's mail system.
4. Give it a minute.. go back in to Manager users, select the user again and this time click Delete User at the bottom.

If you're reactivating the same user I'd probably disable them removing the info then enabling and generate a new activation password rather than deleting.

4) Even though you've wiped the phone it still keeps the old service books, to remove the old service books go in to options -> services books and delete all of the Desktop service books.
(I wouldn't bother with this if you're re-activating the same user)

5) Back in the Desktop Software go to Device then restore, your backup should appear in the list automatically.
If you're activating a DIFFERENT email account than before then do the extra steps below otherwise the old messages etc will be restored!
If you're reactivating the same user just restore the whole backup.

select it then tick "Select Device data and Settings"
Make sure to UNTICK:
"Calendar - All"
"Calendar Options"
"Messages"
"Service Book"
Then click Restore.

Now you need to reactive the phone for BES. You can either do this through webdesktop by plugging the phone or using Enterprise Activation on the phone and entering their email address and the activation password you create.

Even if you choose now to restore the old calendar entries on restoring It still keeps them on the device.. not sure how to delete them.



[Image: engrish25.png]
Reply



Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)